2022 Absa Top 10 Olive Oil Award Winners Announced

The 2022 Absa Top 10 Olive Oil awards took place on the 7th of October at the beautiful Asara Wine Estate in Stellenbosch. As part of an ongoing partnership between Absa and the SA Olive Industry Association, every year following the annual SA Olive Awards the highest-scoring Gold medal winners are entered into an additional round of blind judging. Out of this, the ten top scoring Extra Virgin Olive Oils are then selected for the prestigious Absa Top 10 Olive Oil Award.

We are proud to announce that the 2022 Absa Top 10 Olive Oil Award winners are:

  • Altevrede:  Altevrede – Favolosa
  • De Rustica:  De Rustica Collection:  Coratina
  • Falcon’s Nest Farm: Chaloner The Peregrine Limited Edition
  • Het Vlock Casteel: Het Vlock Casteel Favolosa
  • Mardouw Investments: Mardouw XXV Intense
  • Morgenster: Don Carlo Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Oudewerfskloof Olive Farm: OWK Picual
  • Porterville Olives: Andante Delicate
  • Rio Largo Olive Estate: Rio Largo Gold
  • Zoetigheyd Farms: Zoetigheyd Premium Frantoio

The partnership between SA Olive and Absa started in 2013 when the Absa Top 5 Olive Oil Awards were first introduced. Since then, this award has grown into a prestigious annual event at which South African EVOO producers are given the deserved recognition for their pursuit of excellence in producing top-quality Extra Virgin Olive Oil (EVOO). The event also validates Absa’s commitment to supporting South African agriculture and promoting the development of South African EVOO and the olive industry.

SA Olive’s CEO, Vittoria Jooste says “We are delighted to be celebrating our South African olive oil producers with such a prestigious event. So much hard work, determination and technical expertise are needed to create EVOOs of the highest quality, and South African producers should be duly recognised for producing quality olive oils, year after year, in spite of the many challenges. The annual Absa Top 10 Olive Oil Awards is an excellent platform to showcase the best South African EVOOs and give producers – finalists and winners – the recognition they deserve.”

Willem Nel, Absa’s Regional Segment Head: High Value Banking and Premium Cape Region says “After nearly a decade of working with SA Olive, we are proud to be part of this annual award ceremony once again. As we have recently celebrated Heritage Day, we truly believe that olive oil is deeply rooted in our heritage, and at Absa we take pride in celebrating the rich history, tradition, diversity, excellence, and quality of South African Extra Virgin Olive Oil. South African producers are creating top quality olive oils every year, and we need to do all we can to continually support and assist them in promoting their products as they play an invaluable role within the local olive industry. We would like to congratulate all entrants and winners on a job well done.”

Congratulations once again to all 2022 Absa Top 10 Olive Oil Award winners, and we look forward to next year.
-ends –
Visit the SA Olive Website and follow us on social media.
SA Olive on Instagram
SA Olive on Facebook

About SA Olive
SA Olive is an association representing the common interests of the South African olive industry and is committed to ensuring a healthy future for its members, healthy growth and development for the industry and a healthy lifestyle for all South Africans.
Always look out for the SA Olive CTC seal on a bottle of Extra Virgin Olive Oil (EVOO). This is a seal of confidence and it’s the guarantee that the producer is ‘committed to compliance’ in quality olive oil production.  It confirms that the EVOO is 100% locally (South African) produced and is authentic Extra Virgin Olive Oil.